My first GF Chocolate Bundt cake with a special secret ingredient!

I just made this:

Doesn’t it look delicious? It smells even better than it looks! Too bad you can’t smell it through your computer.

This cake was inspired by a recipe I found on Green Kitchen Stories.

As you know I’ve been receiving fresh produce from my CSA, Lynchburg Grows. This past week I received an item that stumped me - Beets. What do beets have to do with this delicious chocolate cake, you ask? They are the special secret ingredient! I know, right? CRAZY.

Here’s the recipe for Chocolate Beet Bundt Cake I modified to make gluten free:

2/3 cup olive oil

1/2 cup honey

50 grams dark chocolate, broken up

2 cups(ish) grated RAW beetroots

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups all purpose GF flour

1 tsp xanthan gum

2 tsp baking powder

5 tbsp cacao powder

1 pinch of salt

I decided that since I was working along I’d break my work up into stations, getting everything ready individually for the final mix-in.

Station 1 – eggs ready to be whisked and dry ingredients:

Station 2 – Olive oil in the pan, with honey and chocolate standing by:

Station 3 took some work before it was ready – the beets:

First, I made a makeshift plastic apron to avoid stains.

Second, I covered my counter with plastic and washed and prepared the beets to be peeled.

Third, I grated the beet roots.

Now that my stations were set up, I got to work on the recipe.

1: Turn the oven on to preheat at 350.

2: Heat olive oil in a medium sauce pan (large enough to fit ALL of the ingredients). Once heated, add honey and chocolate. Stir until chocolate is melted.

3: Remove from heat and mix in beets.

4: Whisk eggs and add to beet mixture.

5: Stir in dry ingredients until mixed well.

6: Grease bundt pan and pour in cake mix.

7: Put in preheated oven for 25 minutes.

8: Remove from oven!

9: Let it rest for 10 minutes in the bundt pan before flipping out to cool completely.

10: ENJOY!

This recipe is EASY, especially for being Gluten Free. I can’t wait to dig in and enjoy a piece of this special cake!

~Amber Joy

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

