First post about the Dominican Republic

Daddy and me, 2009

For those of you who know me, the Dominican Republic has defined my life since I was about 5, and has directed my life since 5th grade. My dad went to the DR for the first time in 1993, and came back with a new passion for serving the Dominicans. This passion leaked into my soul too, and I began studying Spanish when I was in 4th grade. In 5th grade, our family made a trip down to the DR.

Here’s an excerpt from my spiritual autobiography:

“In 1999 we took a family vacation to the Dominican Republic, because my dad had finally decided to share a big part of his heart with the rest of the family.  I never expected it to become such a big part of my heart, but the moment I stepped off the plane I felt it.  I felt like I was home and felt God’s presence.  I knew that the Dominican Republic was the place for me.  I was not sure why I felt this way, seeing that I had only been in the country for a minute, but I knew it was from God.”

I’ve gone back four times, joining the team from our church, with my dad by my side. Each time, God’s calling became clearer and clearer.  In college I majored in Elementary Education and Spanish, thinking that God would use me as a teacher in the DR. I still believe I’m meant to be a teacher today, but God has put (at least) one more think in my path – law school. I’ll leave the whole story of that major decision to another post.

Because of law school, I’m left without a plan. I know God wants me in the DR. I know that I’m supposed to be in law school. But how to the two fit together? Here’s my most recent epiphany: Invisible Children of Latin America. And by epiphany I mean  this is something I’ve been uncovering and studying for the past few years. However, I’ve just recently begun to had the opportunity share my passion about the issue. I was able to write about it for the Liberty Legal Journal (see http://www.liberty.edu/academics/law/index.cfm?PID=22605&artid=43005). Also, I will be writing a major research paper on the topic for both my International Human Rights class and a nation Human Rights contest. I feel incredibly blessed to have these opportunities to share about such a hidden issue.

So that’s where I sit. A law student, with a calling to be in the Dominican Republic, and the great opportunity to share about the issues in Latin America through writing and research.

Oh, one more thing. I am going to the DR this March to join Rick and Becky Mackey in ministry!  Rick was my youth pastor, and he and his family are now missionaries in the Dominican Republic. The purpose of their ministry is to reach the locals, teach them about Christ, and give them the tools to be Christian leaders in their communities. I will be joining them for a week, doing what they do, and also spending time connecting with people working in the legal field. Awesome, right?

God is definitely blessing me.

~Amber Joy

Comments are closed.
