Oven Fried Fish and (Parsnip) Chips

I had an English inspired dinner tonight – my version of fish and chips.

Rather than pulling out the oil and frying everything, I went with the lighter option and used the oven. I also used parsnip instead of potatoes, and made the fish gluten free.

As you begin prep, preheat your oven to 400°F and cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Chips – parsnip oven fries: Simply cut some parsnip like you would potatoes (small wedges), and toss in olive oil and seasoning – I use salt, garlic, and Mrs. Dash. Spread the fries on 2/3 of the baking sheet.

Fish: I use tilapia, because I’m a seafood wimp. To make it gluten free, simply use gluten-free flour (I used Masa Horina) and bread crumbs (I made my own out of an end piece from an Udi loaf).

In case you haven’t breaded anything before  here’s how you do it. Set out three bowls. Dump some flour in the first bowl, whisk an egg in the second bowl, and put your bread crumbs in the third bowl. Cover your fish lightly in flour, then dip it in the eggs.  Go back to the flour, then back to the eggs. Then cover well with bread crumbs, and you’re ready to go! Before placing the fish on the baking sheet, pour a thin layer of olive oil where your fish will go.

Ready to go in the oven!

Put the baking sheet in the preheated oven, and get excited, because you’re just 20 minutes away from a delicious dinner. Set your timer for 10 minutes, though, because the fries will need to be turned. After turning them, set the time for 10 more minutes. When the time is done your fries should be soft and golden, and the fish should flake and the crust should be crunchy.

Done!

That’s it! An easy, healthy alternative to the classic fish and chips.

Enjoy!

~Amber Joy

PS – While my meal was in the oven, I tried out my first Cara Cara orange. It was so good! The color is beautiful, it was super juicy, and tasted almost exactly the same as a normal Navel. Try them out.

Comments are closed.
