Trusting that God will provide

About a month ago I got the final clearance from the missions board at my home church for my March trip to the Dominican Republic. Being a student living off of loans, I knew support was key to this trip happening. I mailed/delivered 70 letters, stating my goal was $1000. This goal, I thought, was lofty. Who is going to support me in a trip I came up with myself? So, I lowered my expectations to simply getting my airfare covered -$600.

$600 came in quickly. Then it jumped to $900 in one day. I was BLOWN away. God showed me! Doubt is not a part of our faith. We are not to doubt but to BELIEVE. And yet, I still questioned whether I would hit my $1000 goal.

The day after the jump to $900, my total rocketed to $1500. Once again, I was in awe. Why did I ever doubt God’s provision?

At this moment I have heard from just 19 of my sponsors, and also received money from my home church. My total is sitting at $1700 with more to come. God is definitely working in me through this amazing provision. I can’t even imagine what great things are going to come from this money in the Dominican Republic. I am THRILLED to be a part of his great plan.

My favorite book in the Bible is Habakkuk, I think because I am so much like Habakkuk. Here are my favorite verses:

How long, O Lord, must I call for help, but you do not listen? Or cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not save? Why do you make me look at injustice? Why do you tolerate wrong? Destruction and violence are before me; there is strife, and conflict abounds. Therefore the law is paralyzed, and justice never prevails. The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted.
The Lord’s Answer: “Look at the nations and watch— and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.” -Habakkuk 1:2-5

Be encouraged, and know that God will provide!
~Amber Joy

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (1)
  1. Amber, that is awesome to hear! I just received the first couple of responses to support letters that I sent out. It really is SO encouraging to see how God provides. Thanks for this post tonight 🙂 And those verses!

Comments are closed.
