A Saturday worth anticipating.

Today was a wonderful day!

It began with completing my readings for Tuesday and Thursday. Normally I just do Tuesday’s over the weekend, but I overachieved today.

After I read I made some of my favorite cookies – Gluten Free, Sugar Free Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies

All you need is:

3 ripe bananas, smashed
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup butter, softened
2 cups quick cook oats
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mix all of the ingredients, then let sit for 5-10 minutes to let the oats absorb the liquids.

Drop tablespoons onto a cookie sheet, and bake for 20-25 minutes at 325. The bottoms should begin to brown, and they should appear something like this:

These cookies are so good, and so healthy! Perfect.

Once the kitchen was cleaned up, I ate some lunch, then headed out to get my hair cut. I decided yesterday I was ready for it to be short again, so I made an appointment and here are the results:

Goodbye 8 inches! Hello, short hair! Don’t worry, I’ve had this cut before, I know it’s easy and cute. I’m pretty proud of my outfit (minus the slippers) too!

After my haircut I emailed the UN, in both English and Spanish. My brain got a work out, that’s for sure. (I’m trying to get some more research for my international human rights class).

Rather than spending the evening alone, studying, I changed it up.

One of my friends who goes to undergrad here decided we should do dinner and then a concert.

For dinner I chose Texas Roadhouse, because I had never been.

Here’s my obligatory first time eating this picture of the Road Kill Steak:

Steak with sauteed onions and melted cheese, paired with a baked potato and steamed veggies – YUM.

My final event of the evening was the Casting Crowns concert at Liberty.

To my surprise, the openers were AMAZING.

Lindsey McCaul (http://lindsaymccaul.com/):

Royal Tailor (http://royaltailoronline.com/):

Matthew West (http://www.matthewwest.com/):

Casting Crowns was about 1000 times better than I had hoped for. SO GOOD. (http://castingcrowns.com/)

I was dumb enough to not bring my camera, so was stuck capturing the thing with my phone. Here’s my best shot:

This was after intermission when Casting Crowns did an acoustic set. Oh, so wonderful.

I realized that I need to start listening to their new music. This song was my favorite of the whole night:

The concert was 3 1/2 hours long. My ears are still ringing, but it was more than worth it.

I think this day will give me fuel for a while. It was such a great day, filled with amazing experiences!

I hope you had a wonderful Saturday as well!

~Amber Henry

PS – The weather forecast is still calling for snow tomorrow! Possibly 5-7 inches by Monday morning!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
    • Auntie Be
    • February 19th, 2012

    Amber. we saw Casting Crowns, too. Their concert really is amazing!!
    Hadn’t been to a concert for ages. Luckily, Brian brought ear plugs, and we still could hear just fine. 🙂
    I may make your cookies this week. They do sound yummy.
    Love you bunches.

    Auntie Be—ps. did you get the mail from me?

  1. Just found AND tried this recipe!! The cookies are AMAZING!! I’m gunna have to make sure I don’t eat them all at once haha! Thanks for sharing this with us!

Comments are closed.
