Being a homemaker… or just really liking making my own food.

If I would spend all of my time in the kitchen, I would. I love making my own food. Today I had fun with two new recipes.

First, I made the easiest coconut chocolate pie ever. Martha Stewart certainly knows her way around the kitchen. It has just four ingredients – coconut, butter, dark chocolate, and heavy cream. Put those together in the right way, following the directions here – http://www.styleathome.com/food-and-entertaining/recipes/recipe-martha-stewart-s-crisp-coconut-and-chocolate-pie/a/34855?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=sah_bb_110929 and you get this:

Pie that tastes like a mounds bar, but without all the extra sugar. Delish.

After I made my pie, I was left with 8 ounces of heavy cream. Then I remembered this post on 2 little hooligans – http://2littlehooligans.blogspot.com/2011/05/how-to-make-butter-in-canning-jar.html – how to make your own butter! So, after 50 minutes of shaking, I got this:

Fresh (except not fresh from the cow) butter! Amazing! I definitely doubted the process around minute 40, but decided to wait until I hit an hour to give up. Minute 50 rolled around and magic happened before my eyes. My arms may or may not be sore.

So much fun! I hope you have some adventures in the kitchen soon.

~Amber Joy

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)
Comments are closed.
