Being a homemaker continued… or I really like sewing my own stuff.

I have sewn quilts, blankets, and my amazing purse, but I have never sewn clothes… Until today. I sewed my very first skirt!

Unfortunately, I really just made it up as I went, because I had the wrong kind of elastic for this tutorial – http://asmallsnippet.blogspot.com/2011/09/wanna-make-dress.html – and not enough fabric according to any of the tutorials. Therefore, I didn’t take any pictures, because I was focusing on not wasting my $15 of fabric. Yes, I splurged on fabric. I wanted a loud, but not crazy, print. I wanted bright colors, but nothing outside my color palette or comfort zone.

So, here’s the finished product:

Fortunately, I can retell my steps for those of you dying to recreate this project.

1) Get fabric of choice, preferably polyester or rayon. These fabrics don’t wrinkle like cotton, but are still washable. You’ll need 1 1/2 to 2 yards. Basically whatever wraps around your waist one and a half times. I made a high-waisted skirt so I just need 1 1/2. Also get elastic. I used 3/4 inch.

2) Keep fabric folded in half, like it is on the bolt. Cut 2 strips (since you have it folded in half, just make one cut) that will be two times wider than your elastic once sewn together.

3) Place the right sides together of the 2 strips and sew along both long edges. Turn right side out.

4) Measure your elastic by stretching it around where you would prefer the waist to be. Add one inch and cut.

4) Using a safety-pin, thread your elastic through the waistband, making sure to hang on the both ends otherwise you’ll waste a lot of time fishing it out. Sew each end of the elastic to the waistband, making sure to go over at least three times to secure it.

5) Turn the skirt body so the right sides are together. Sew the long edge (opposite the fold), and turn right side out.

6) Here comes the fun part…. Sew the sewn long edge of the skirt body to the waistband. The elastic will make it be scrunchy, but stretch it out to ensure the fabric lines up. It’ll work, I promise.

7) Turn the fabric right side in, and sew the remaining seam.

8) Put on and admire your handiwork!

The beauty of this project is there is not a hem. It makes for a great introduction to sewing my own apparel.

I’m considering tacking some pleats along the waistband, so it’ll lay exactly right each time I put it on.

I can’t wait to wear it! It’ll most likely make its debut in the Dominican Republic — my trip is just TWO WEEKS AWAY!

~Amber Joy

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (1)
  1. looks great! I haven’t tried a skirt yet but I want to sooo badly!

Comments are closed.
