Sorry for the Absence…

I just realized I haven’t posted in a while! My brain has been worn out, so I guess my blog just floated off into space with the rest of me… To make up for it, I’m going to make this a conglomeration post – some recipes, some photos, some thoughts on life.

If you’re on Pinterest (which you should be), you’ve probably seen the pins for Overnight Oats. I saw this, thought it was a good idea, but didn’t repin because I’ve done this on my own before, just with a twist! A much EASIER way to do this in the MORNING is using quick cook oats. When you get up, simply mix in your yogurt of choice with your oats, let it sit in the fridge as you get ready for the day, then add fruit and enjoy! Another plus is it’s not to soggy, since it has only been sitting for a few minutes.

Another recipe idea I saw (and pinned) on Pinterest was 50 Healthy Gluten-free Snack Ideas from With Style and Grace. I snack A LOT, and can always use some new ideas. I usually defer to a couple of tablespoons of peanuts or some toast. So, seeing this link, I got excited for the possibilities!

Lynchburg has been in full bloom for a while, but here are some photos from my front yard (If you have any desire for prints, re-use, etc. please notify me. Being my photography, I own the rights, and do not want anything reproduced without my permission.):

I love spring, but my body hates pollen, so I spend more time inside than outside. With my schedule, this is not difficult… Finals are one month away, which is SCARY. I’m not near ready for that time to come – 100% of my grade riding on one test per class is stressful. So, rather than dwelling on the inevitable, I’m busy with things outside of law school, when I’m not reading, of course.

I’ve been working 12-15 hours per week, most of which is enjoyable. Last Friday, however, I had a really strange hour. I had two high school boys the same age – one at a higher intelligence level than myself, and the other barely able to read a second grade level. It’s perplexing to experience both the high and the low at the same time. It’s also hard to keep the high one from laughing at the simplicity of the low one’s work, and the low one being discouraged by the material of the high one. It was challenging, to say the least.

I’ve also been teaching Sunday School, as usual. Those kids can be CRAZY. They can also be extremely discerning, but that’s once in a blue moon. I love teaching them, no matter their mood, although I prefer not to shout. This coming Sunday we’re going to write to the kids I worked with in the Dominican Republic. It’ll be fun.

I should probably go get ready for the day… I love Wednesdays because it’s the one day I don’t have class until 11:45!

Have a good hump day!

~Amber Joy

Comments are closed.
