Being a hero for the afternoon.

Today I had the opportunity to be a hero for the afternoon.

Without going into detail, I helped out my backyard neighbor in an abusive situation. As she was running up my driveway I got permission to call the police for her. I watched the whole situation unfold, and made sure she was safe and taken care of by the police. As a law student, all the different laws kept popping into my head as I hid out in my dining room, watching.

This evening she came to our front door and thanked me. It was surprising to have her do that, but I was glad to see her safe and hear a little bit more of the story than what I witnessed. She thankfully has a protective order, and wouldn’t have been able to get it if I hadn’t called 911.

It was a good experience to have from a bad situation.

Comments are closed.
