Weeks one and two of CSA

I am a part of a CSA here in Lynchburg from Lynchburg Grows.

What is CSA, you ask? It’s Community Supported Agriculture – for a set period of time you get weekly amounts of fresh, pesticide-free food from local farmers. This helps out local farmers, and also gives your tummy a treat. It’s also super fun to get ingredients that you have never heard of, forcing you to stretch your culinary skills and palate.

I’ve joined Lynchburg Grows, which is a company that grows their own stuff and also networks with several local farmers, giving us great variety each week. It runs May 1-October 31, meaning I have 27 weeks of this deliciousness to look forward to!

Each week I plan on posting a picture of my goods, and possible recipes/outcomes.

Here are the first two weeks:

May 1 – Spring Onions, Swiss Chard, Spinach, Fresh Eggs, and Strawberries

May 8 – Fresh Eggs, Kale, Strawberries, Swiss Chard, and Gouda!

Because of finals I haven’t experimented much with these ingredients, but have made swiss chard chips, which are actually pretty good!

I’m planning on making Chickpeas with Chard and Pan Roasted Tomatoes from Real Simple this weekend. I’m excited!

25 more weeks!

~Amber Joy

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
  1. Delicious! I have never tried swiss chard chips before…good idea 🙂

    I would love for you to link up to my link party! http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/10/whats-in-the-box-25/. Hope to see you there…

  2. I make kale chips but haven’t thought about doing it with other greens. I’m not sure why. Thanks for the idea.

Comments are closed.
